This is the "Find Popular and Scholarly sources" page of the "Research Process and Strategies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Process and Strategies  

Last Updated: Nov 30, 2010 URL: http://libguides.lacademy.edu/research Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Popular and Scholarly sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What they are and what they can do for you

Scholarly journals are where the experts talk to each other.  This is where the newest research and ideas are first published. Sometimes in some fields, researchers develop ideas from journal articles into books.  If you cannot understand these articles, read encyclopedia articles for background in the field.  Instructors frequently require scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.  Peer review is when another expert in the field reads the article before it is published in order to confirm that the methods used in the article conform to the requirements of the field.

Popular Magazines

According to IRIS (Information & Research Instruction Suite at Clark College), use popular magazines when you need:

  • information or opinions about popular culture
  • up-to-date information about current events
  • general articles by people who are not necessarily specialists about the topic

Use newspapers to:

  • find current information about international, national and local events
  • find editorials, commentaries, expert or popular opinions

Read more at http://www.clark.edu/Library/iris/types/sources/sources_p4.shtml and http://www.clark.edu/Library/iris/types/scholarly_popular/scholarly_popular_p2.shtml

General databases for finding popular and scholarly articles

Below are some databases that include articles from both scholarly journals and popular magazines. Pay attention to the tabs found on the search screens of these resources to limit your results to these types of publications. 

  • Academic One File
    The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects
  • Proquest Platinum  
      
    This database contains scholarly articles, but it also contains newspapers and popular magazines, so pay attention to what it is you're reading. Some of these are full-text, but some are only abstracts, or summaries.
  • JSTOR
    This is an archive of multidisciplinary scholarly materials. Current issues are not accessible, and publishers release more current volumes regularly.
 

CLIP video--Popular and Scholarly sources

No Flash plugin installed.

 

Ads in Popular Media

books

Ads in popular magazines can tell you a lot about the culture.  Try Vintage Ad Browser and Ad*Access

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip