Seach for books and e-books in the McDonald Library collection. Try the EBSCO Discovery link for an alternative way to find library holdings and much more.
Current magazines in the library
- Current History
- The Nation
- National Review
Reference books/Primary sources
- American Decades: Primary Sources 10v. R 973.91 ROS
- Annals of America R 973 ANN
- The Cold War Presidency: A Documentary History R 973.92 LAN
- Conflicts in American History : A Documentary Encyclopedia 8v. R 973.003 TRO
- Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History 2v. R 973.088 CUR
- The Kennedy Tapes: Inside the White House During the Cuban Missile Crisis R 973. 922 MAY
- The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History R 909.82 TUC 5v.
- The New York Times: The Complete Front Pages, 1851 - 2008 R 909.8 NYT
- Milestone Documents in American History 4v. R 973 MIL
- Milestone Documents of American Leaders 4v. R 973 FIN
For online access to the above two titles, visit: http:history.salempress.com
These resources provide background on a variety of topics in U.S. History from 1960 going forward
- American Decades R 973 LAY 11 v.
- Dictionary of American History 3rd ed. R 973.03 DIC 10v.
- Encyclopedia of American Studies R 973.03 ENC 4v.
- Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History R 973.04 PAL 6v.
- Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United Sates R973.046 OBO 4v.
- Americans at War: Society and the Homefront (1946- present) R 973 RES v.4
- The Sixties in America R 973.92 SIX 3v.
- The Seventies in America R 973.93 SEV 3v
- The Eighties in America R 973.927 EIG 3v.
- Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War R 959.704 ENC
- The Vietnam Experience series R 959.7 DOU 12v.
- Encyclopedia of the Cold War R 909.82 ARM
- History in Dispute R909.82 HIS (vols. 1 & 2 cover the Cold War and Am. Social/Political Movements respectively)
- Bowling, Beatniks and Bellbottoms: Pop Culture of 20th Century America R 306.0973 PEN
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences 2nd ed. R 300.3 DAR
- Congress and the Nation R320.973 HAL
Take a look at the print New York Times index section and the specialized indexing that it provides to help you navigate the online historical edition. Browse the sections in the reference area around these suggested books for more related information. Keep track of where you are finding your sources.