Information Literacy Skills
Below you will find links to Information Skills modules provided by Credo Reference to guide the research process.
Thinking About How to Frame Your Search
Library databases are an organized collection of electronic information that allows a user to search for a particular topic, article, book, image or video in a variety of ways (e.g., keyword, subject, author, title).Some databases are general in what they cover, while others are more subject specific. The library provides this information for you for free.
Citing your Sources
Register for an account and begin generating your bibliography
Most databases now help with citation. Look for a button or a link that says citation. Databases frequently make mistakes, so you have to check them.
Citation help with MLA Style
Finding background information
Closely read some background articles on your topic to get better understanding and vocabulary related to your search. A few suggestions, but not limited to...
These resources provide background on a variety of topics in U.S. History from 1960 going forward
- American Decades R 973 LAY 11 v.
- Dictionary of American History 3rd ed. R 973.03 DIC 10v.
- Encyclopedia of American Studies R 973.03 ENC 4v.
- Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History R 973.04 PAL 6v.
- Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United Sates R973.046 OBO 4v.
- Americans at War: Society and the Homefront (1946- present) R 973 RES v.4
- The Sixties in America R 973.92 SIX 3v.
- The Seventies in America R 973.93 SEV 3v
- The Eighties in America R 973.927 EIG 3v.
- Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War R 959.704 ENC
- The Vietnam Experience series R 959.7 DOU 12v.
- Encyclopedia of the Cold War R 909.82 ARM
- History in Dispute R909.82 HIS (vols. 1 & 2 cover the Cold War and Am. Social/Political Movements respectively)
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences 2nd ed. R 300.3 DAR
- Congress and the Nation R320.973 HAL
Take a look at the print New York Times index section and the specialized indexing that it provides to help you navigate the online historical edition. Browse the sections in the reference area around these suggested books for more related information. Keep track of where you are finding your sources.