Spartan Guides: Human Geography: E-Resources: Background and Beyond

Electronic reference sources

Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Milestone Documents of World Religions
National Geographic Mapping
Source for printable geological maps which allow you to build a map around subjects such as population density, displaced people, and language distribution.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (Univ. of Texas)
Historical world maps
U.S.Geological Survey
Provides data about conservation, climate change, physical geology, contaminants, and population characteristics for both humans and animals within the United States. Links to subject and region specific maps over these and other relevant topics can be found here.

Knoema
World and regional statistics, national data, maps, rankings
World Bank
Statistical data over key geographic topics by region. Also supplies comparative statistics

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Cite and archive your sources after registering your account. Includes notetaking, outlining capability. Also includes the ability to share work with instructors and peers.

How to Prepare and Annotated Bibliography (Cornell Univ.)
Use this guide along with Noodletools to create your annotated bibliography

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

Gapminder: For a Fact-Based World View
Global Issues in Context
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covers topics such as:global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Latino American Experience
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Online Newspapers.com
ProQuest Newsstream
Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (Dep't of State)
World Factbook (CIA)

Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe for the modern researcher as well as growing archive of news
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access to most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publication
New York Times, The This link opens in a new window
FULL ACCESS - Current national and international news from the Pulizer-winning industry leader.

Portals to a variety of web resources on the topic of the Middle East

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers access to resources cited in a combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books. Coverage in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law, and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology, and more. Includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present.