Spartan Guides: Anatomy and Physiology: General and Integumentary System Resources

Find Books

Search for books and e-books:

Library Catalog
EBSCO Discovery
Search for books and electronic resources to which the library subscribes

e-Book Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection.

Web Sites

Atlas of the Human Body (AMA)
BBC Interactive Body
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
Bartleby.com edition
Inner Body: Your Guide to Human Anatomy Online
MedlinePlus- Health Information
Information from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health
PubMed (NIH and National Library of Medicine)
"PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."
DynaMed
Search articles, clinical research outcomes, journals, and more on DynaMed's aggregated database.

Government Information about Health

CDC - Centers for Disease Control
The website gives you access to all the information about diseases, prevention, and cures.
WHO - World Health Organization
International health topic resource!
HHS - The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The website provides all Americans with information regarding their health and well-being.
New York Department of Health: Diseases and Conditions

Print resources

Selected print resources for background on your topic. Gather keywords and vocabulary to inform further research on your topic.

Netter's Atlas of the Human Body R611.002 NET
The Way We Work: Getting to Know the Amazing Human Body 612 MAC
The Merck Manual of Medical Information R616 MER
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine 5v. R616.003 LON
Human Diseases and Conditions 2nd ed. 4v. R616.03 HUM
Gray's Anatomy 612 GRA
World Book Encyclopedia R031 WOR
Magill's Medical Guide 7th ed. R610.3 BRO
Skin Health Information for Teens 3rd. ed. R616.5 SKIN

Electronic Reference & Databases

Look for background/overview information on your topic here. Search for articles in e-reference books and databases using keywords/vocabulary you've gathered.

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

Science (Gale Interactive) This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive view of the most-studied science subjects. Authoritative, high-quality digital content is paired with interactive 3D models with functionality including zooming in, rotating, or pulling them apart.

Magill's Medical Guide, 7th ed.

Academic One File This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources covering all subject areas
Britannica Online School Edition This link opens in a new window
A combination of the Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Credo Source Reference This link opens in a new window
Background Information to start your Research! Searching 3,520,133 full-text articles in 1,110 titles from 119 publishers
Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
For those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Periodicals and reference book content supporting research in health studies
Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
This Database brings together trusted content from journals, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It brings together not only range from open-access journals, but also pre-prints and additional content being made freely available by significant publishers from around the world

Academic Journals

New England Journal of Medicine, The
Create your account to get 2 free subscriber-only articles each month.
more...less...
Besides being a leading publication in the medical field, the NEJM website also contains resources for professional development such as case studies, quizzes, and a rich medical image library. NEJM has been continuously published since 1812.

Dermatology

American Academy of Dermatology
WebMD - Skin Problems and Treatments
Medical News Today: Dermatology
Published by MediLexicon International, Ltd. (UK)

Citing Your Sources

Noodletools
Bibliography generator for MLA, Chicago and APA styles

Watch Video Tutorials available under the tab Videos on the top of this page.

Current magazines and newspapers

Browse current magazines and newspapers articles/ideas on your topic

New York Times, The This link opens in a new window
Click on the link HEALTH for your research.
FLIPSTER This link opens in a new window
Provide access to a variety of Digital Magazines: news, science, entertainment, and sports. Download the APP and connect using the Username: Lawrence and Password: #1spartans

Examples: Science News, Mindful, Women's Health, and Men's Health Magazine.

Librarian

Jody Kopple

she/her

Email Me