Geography Research: Getting Started

A combination of the Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Gain basic information on your individual country and notice sub-categories on left margin

Find information on your chosen country via the left search box at the top of the landing page

Do a basic search on your country where you should find preliminary information at the top of your search screen. You can also select Newspaper articles from your boxed results

Start here for background on your country which includes primary material as well

Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays covering the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance; concurrent developments in Asia, Africa, and the Islamic world; the global impact of the Industrial Revolution; and the last 100 years of conflicts and international cooperation. Browse by content type, topic, and era.
more...

Authoritative reference content relating to World History with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Explore all time periods from Discovery to present day

Cite and archive your sources after registering your account. Includes notetaking, outlining capability. Also includes the ability to share work with instructors and peers.

Regional, national, and world Newspapers.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

On landing page, click the "More" tab and select Newspapers. Having familiarized yourself with background on your topic, select "Advanced Search" to narrow your results using multiple terms. Check "Full Text" before your search.You can further narrow your results by selecting language, dates and other filters on the left margin of your results page.