Spartan Guides: Social Psychology: Research Overview

Finding Books

Library Catalog
Books and e-Books in the library collection. At this time only virtual resources are available.

e-Book Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
E-Books available through EBSCO covering all academic disciplines. Pay attention to subject headings assigned to the books in your results and follow those links for related books

EBSCO DIscovery
Conduct a basic keyword search of your topic to flush out resources from all of our databases or perhaps a Research Starters. An Advanced Search is useful once you have more terms in mind to narrow your results.

Background information

Britannica Online School Edition This link opens in a new window
A combination of the Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Credo Source Reference This link opens in a new window
Background Information to start your Research! Searching 3,520,133 full-text articles in 1,110 titles from 119 publishers
Psychology and Human Behavior This link opens in a new window
Also available in print reference collection: R616.89/SALEM

Evaluating/Citing Your Resources

NIH : Finding and Evaluating Online Resources

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Cite and archive your sources after registering your account. Includes notetaking, outlining capability. Also includes the ability to share work with instructors and peers.

Selected Databases: General and Subject Specific

Academic One File This link opens in a new window
On landing page:in addition to a keyword search, browse by discipline, mine Subject Headings and their subheadings, use Topic Finder to visualize your search
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers access to resources cited in a combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books. Coverage in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law, and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology, and more. Includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Selected archived journals in all disciplines. Coverage up to the most recent few years. Moving wall of publication release.
Psychology Collection (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

PubMed

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window