Spartan Guides: Planet Earth: Natural Disasters: Cyclones

Finding Background Information

Start here to find reference articles to inform your topic understanding. General and subject specific resources can offer you an overview.

Britannica Online School Edition This link opens in a new window
A search of "Cyclones" will produce articles, as well as, vetted related resources on the left margin
Credo Source Reference This link opens in a new window
A search for "cyclones" will lead to a Topic Page and a Mind Map
Earth Science: Earth's Weather,Water, and Atmosphere This link opens in a new window
Search for articles by keyword or use Table of Contents
Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Search topic directly or select: Browse Topics > Hurricanes, for background articles. Notice "Reference" category in results.
Notable Natural Disasters, 2nd edtion This link opens in a new window
Good overview essay on Hurricanes,Typhoons and Cyclones

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Cite and archive your sources after registering your account. Includes notetaking, outlining capability. Also includes the ability to share work with instructors and peers.

OWL (Purdue)
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab offers guidance and examples in a variety of styles, MLA style found here

Search the library catalog, and specific databases listed below

e-Book Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for eBooks on your topic here

Look here for further coverage in these reources below:

Academic One File This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources covering all subject areas
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Enter the name of your cyclone and narrow after finding clues on the left hand margin
News: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Filter your search results by checking Subject and Document Type on right margin
Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Search for your event and also Browse Topics where you'll notice an updated Hurricanes page. Look for filters to the right of your search results too.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Keep dates in mind when searching for your topic. Pay attention to filters on landing and advanced search pages
ProQuest Central, K-12 This link opens in a new window
Search through all of the ProQuest databases to find many types of information sources on your topic.