Spartan Guides: History in Film: Getting started

Books and Ebooks

Dissent and Protest (1637-2016) by Salem Press
ISBN: 9781682172896

Publication Date: 2017-06-30
Witness to the Revolution by Clara Bingham
ISBN: 9780812993189

Publication Date: 2016-05-31
Civil Disobedience by Lewis Perry
ISBN: 9780300124590

Publication Date: 2013-10-22
American History and Contemporary Hollywood Film by Trevor McCrisken; Andrew Pepper
ISBN: 0813536219

Publication Date: 2005-03-14

This book is available in the LA library. Come check it out.
History in the Media by Robert Niemi
ISBN: 1576079538

Publication Date: 2006-07-05

This book is available in the LA library. Come check it out!
The Columbia Companion to American History on Film by Peter Rollins (Editor)
ISBN: 9780231112222

Publication Date: 2004-03-24
Whitewashing the Movies by David C. Oh
ISBN: 9781978808621

Publication Date: 2021-10-15
Hollywood and History by Jem Duducu
ISBN: 9781538177068

Publication Date: 2023-09-15

This book is available from the Boston Public Library and may be available through other public libraries or Inter-Library Loan. Talk to your public librarian.
Movie-Made Appalachia by John C. Inscoe
ISBN: 9781469660158

Publication Date: 2020-11-24

This is an ebook and available with a Boston Public Library card. It is also on Hoopla, which is available to you with a BPL ecard.
American History Through Hollywood Film by Melvyn Stokes
ISBN: 9781441175922

Publication Date: 2013-12-05

This book is an ebook available through Sora, which is free to use. Check with the librarian about how to access the book.

Citing Sources

Noodletools
Create a bibliography, take notes, keep track of all research through Noodletools.

Digital Media Options

Boston Public Library Card
Sign up for a free Boston Public Library ecard and gain access to all of their digital resources.
Kanopy, Hoopla and Biblio+
Once you have an ecard from BPL, you can access all of these digital video resources.

Print reference books

Below you will find a selected list of print titles to provide you with background information.

The Statesman's Yearbook 2013: The Politics, Cultures and Economies of the World. R320 STATESMAN
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Relations 4v. R327.73 Enc
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy 3v. R327.73 Enc
The New York Times Front Pages: 1851 - 2013 R909.8 NYT
Encyclopedia of the Cold War 5v. R909.82 Tuc
History in Dispute: the Cold War (vols. 1 and 6) R909.82 HIS
Encyclopedia of Modern China 5v. R951.03 Enc
The World Today Series: East and Southeast Asia (2013)
Annals of America 21v. (primary documents arranged chronologically) R973 ANN
Dictionary of American History 10v. R973.03 DIC

Media

Academic Video Online - AVON

Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY®, and more.
American History in Video
Includes 2,000 total hours of streaming video content. More than half is contemporaneous video from the 1890's to the 1980's. Hundreds of the documentaries most frequently used in history classrooms, from leading video content producers such as PBS, California Newsreel, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, The History Channel, and others.

Research Databases and Topic Finders

Pop Culture Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Communications and Mass Media Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more
Issues and Controversies in American History
Covers U.S. history from its beginnings to present day. Search by subject or by era. Includes primary sources.
ABC-CLIO databases
Search one specific ABC-CLIO database or multiple databases simultaneously. ABC-CLIO databases offer reference information, primary sources, and perspectives in an objective and balanced way for history and humanities.
MAS Ultra
Provides full text for over 500 popular interest and current events publications. Also includes 550 full text pamphlets, 150 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps, and flags.
ProQuest Central, K-12
This database brings together many of ProQuest’s most important, complete databases in the most-studied subject areas, including science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news
Explora

Search/ tool for EBSCO databases
American History in Video
Includes 2,000 total hours of streaming video content. More than half is contemporaneous video from the 1890's to the 1980's. Hundreds of the documentaries most frequently used in history classrooms, from leading video content producers such as PBS, California Newsreel, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, The History Channel, and others.
Britannica Online School Edition

A combination of the Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Newspaper articles

America's Historical Newspapers

Research America's history through the news.

New York Times, The
FULL ACCESS - Current national and international news from the Pulizer-winning industry leader.

Websites

Foreign Relations of the United States 1945 - 1976

Also pay attention to websites that are referenced in your database searches.

Primary Sources

American History in Video
Includes 2,000 total hours of streaming video content. More than half is contemporaneous video from the 1890's to the 1980's
Academic Video Online - AVON
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more.

History in Film: Getting started

Quick Resources

Books and Ebooks

Citing Sources

Digital Media Options

Print reference books

Media

Research Databases and Topic Finders

Newspaper articles

Websites

Primary Sources