To quote the Library of Congress: "Although some literary criticism can now be found through the free Internet, the vast majority of scholarly criticism is still found in print or through subscription databases accessible through libraries."
Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing.
Search one specific ABC-CLIO database or multiple databases simultaneously. ABC-CLIO databases offer reference information, primary sources, and perspectives in an objective and balanced way for history and humanities.
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora. Browse by type of content, topic, and era.
Biographical information for more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the United States as a nation
Access to information about hundreds of thousands of individuals spanning history to science to literature. In it you'll find biographies from reference sources, multi-media content including videos, images, magazines and newspapers, journal articles, and current historical information.
A combination of the Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available
Provides full text for over 500 popular interest and current events publications. Also includes 550 full text pamphlets, 150 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Primarily an index for magazine articles written during these coverage dates. Some direct linking to articles available, including the NYT Magazine and Time magazine.
