U.S. History - Research Paper: Getting started

In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

World News Digest provides than 300,000 original articles from 1940 to today. These include overviews of historic events, country profiles, historical documents, biographies, research features, special reports, editorials.

Includes 2,000 total hours of streaming video content. More than half is contemporaneous video from the 1890's to the 1980's. Hundreds of the documentaries most frequently used in history classrooms, from leading video content producers such as PBS, California Newsreel, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, The History Channel, and others.

Choose History where you will see the Decades Series as well as the Dictionary of American History. Search within publications.

Use Mind Map feature to broaden your perspective on your topic as well

In addition to articles, you can find links to vetted websites

On landing page select History or more subject areas. Also, make use of Topic Finder (for a visual approach to your topic and Subject Guide search (this feature will allow you to find indexed subject headings and subheadings for a topic) Gale is one publisher that allows you export your citation to Noodletools within your specified project

Access to information about hundreds of thousands of individuals spanning history to science to literature. In it you'll find biographies from reference sources, multi-media content including videos, images, magazines and newspapers, journal articles, and current historical information.

Covers U.S. history from its beginnings to present day. Search by subject or by era. Includes primary sources.

Provides full text for over 500 popular interest and current events publications. Also includes 550 full text pamphlets, 150 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps, and flags.

Offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

Primarily an index for magazine articles written during these coverage dates. Some direct linking to articles available, including the NYT Magazine and Time magazine.